Skip to main content

Administrative-territorial and territorial division of the Republic of Bulgaria as of 31 December 2021

Published at: 05.05.2022 - 11:00

As of 31 December 2021, the territory of the Republic of Bulgaria is administratively divided into 28 administrative districts and 265 municipalities, within which there are 3 160 individual mayoralties. Тhere were 5 257 settlements in the Republic of Bulgaria, of which 257 towns and 5 000 villages, while the settlement formations were 165 (including 8 of national and 157 of local importance).

Тhe smallest administrative district by area is Sofia (stolitsa), which at the same time is the biggest by population, with 1 307 439 inhabitants, making it the only district with a population above 1 000 000. The smallest administrative district by population is Vidin, with 78 814 inhabitants.

Statistical domain